Sunrise from Long Reef Headland

Sunrise Long Reef 1
I mentioned my new found enthusiasm for photography in my last post. My latest adventure was to Long Reef Headland, to take photos of the sunrise over the ocean. Anyone who knows me will understand that this in itself is no mean feat – I am not a morning person AT ALL. So when I came up with the suggestion, my husband was doubtful. Me, get out of my warm bed, pre-dawn, in the middle of winter, to take photos?!? Surely you jest!

_MG_0980_sml_MG_0999_sml

When the alarm went off at 5:45 am, I turned over and told Hubby that we weren’t going anymore. He took it well, asking me if I was sure. We checked the forecast and I dragged my butt out of bed, while my awesome Hubby got the gear together for me. Off we set. And I’m so glad we did.

_MG_1015_sml_MG_1059_sml

It’s so serene at that time of the morning, and the colours in the hour before sunrise are so vivid.

_MG_1083_sml_MG_1086_sml

We even had a soundtrack to enhance the experience – a local guy with a didgeridoo came up and started playing, improvised but perfectly fitting.

_MG_0970_sml_MG_1072_sml

The sunrise itself was quite hard to photograph. There weren’t many clouds to highlight the colours that you’d normally get, and I’m still unsure about what settings will get me the results. Light is my passion in photography, and I think I’ve managed to capture some of that here. I guess I can only keep practising. *Sigh* And I guess that means more pre-dawn alarms going off…

4 thoughts on “Sunrise from Long Reef Headland

  1. There is something almost always quite magical about sunrises. Very quiet and they encourage introspection. I suspect early mornings may become – well, not quite a lifestyle! – but more part of your occasional routine. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

